OMO ÈKÓ|| ARRESTED

Beep! Beep! Beep! The mental alarm goes off in my head why I realise it’s 5pm. Today was one of those days; slow and tiring. I had eaten and spent more than I had planned to because I just wanted to distract myself. Packing my bags quickly, I headed for the glass door that leads to the main entrance of the office. As I opened the gate, I breathed a sigh of relief that I had no sudden emails to hold me back.

I took ‘Keke’, a popular means of transportation in Lagos to the nearest bus stop which was at one of the roundabouts on Lekki-Epe expressway. It was only 50naira, I paid the rider and took about 20steps to the bus stop. My next point of stop was about two roundabouts from this one however, the government had recently remodeled them and had put up a footbridge at my bus stop. I paid 100naira to mine and got down.

‘I am so tired’, I complained to myself. I was contemplating whether to cross the expressway to the other side that took me straight home (on a bike, of course) or to walk few kilometres from the traffic light, climb the footbridge and then walk back to the bike men’s junction. Other people where crossing anyway so what could possibly go wrong? (Mistake!)

I had barely crossed the first part of the road when a guy in brown uniform, almost looking like an ‘Igbobi boy’ approached me. I knew something was wrong so I asked why and he said his boss wants to have a word with me.

I didn’t even think it was because I Crossed road until I saw the green truck that looks Similar to the ones used in transporting prisoners..’Aye mii! My mind started racing and trust me I started thinking of the explanation to give o

After a lot of back and forth the officer explained that it was because I Crossed right under the bridge. He said if I had crossed right in front of the light, he would have let me go but that I should just call my people because I will be charged to court. Loool

After begging and almost crying, he finally agreed to collect a ‘fine’. I had about 2000naira in my wallet and as expected, they took that and I was on my way. I got home and just went into my room to sleep. It took weeks for me to tell anyone that story because I was so embarrassed and disappointed at myself for falling into their schemes and games. Most importantly, Something told me not to cross but I ignored.

Please this is a warning that no matter how tired you are, always follow rules because you never know who is watching. Also, because others are doing it does not me it will work for you.

I hope you enjoyed this. If you have any interesting stories, feel free to send them to my email here

Leave a comment